South Sudan Withdraws from Abyei Meeting in Addis Ababa

Hentet fra Ezega | Orginalkilde: Radio Tamazuj

Sudan’s joint oversight committee on Abyei said South Sudan has withdrawn from a joint meeting in Addis Ababa which was supposed to be held on 17 August.The head of the joint committee in Sudan, Hassan Ali Nimir, told the Sudanese Media Centre (SMC) that the South Sudanese team has quit the meeting that was to be attended by traditional leaders of Ngok Dinka and Misseriya tribes.

He reiterated Khartoum’s commitment towards implementing the agreement signed with Juba on Abyei in June 2011, which covers the administrative and security arrangements in Abyei.

Efforts to reach the South Sudan’s committee to comment on the matter were not successful.

The Abyei Area is an area of 10,546 km2 or 4,072 sq m in Sudan accorded «special administrative status» by the 2004 Protocol on the Resolution of the Abyei Conflict (Abyei Protocol) in the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) that ended the Second Sudanese Civil War. The capital of Abyei Area is Abyei Town. Under the terms of the Abyei Protocol, the Abyei Area was declared, on an interim basis, to be simultaneously part of the states of South Kurdufan and Northern Bahr el Ghazal.

In contrast to the borders of the former district, the Abyei Protocol defined the Abyei Area as «the area of the nine Ngok Dinka chiefdoms transferred to Kordofan in 1905».In 2005, a multinational border commission established this to be those portions of Kordofan south of 10°22′30″ N. However, following continued disputes that erupted into violence and threatened the CPA, an international arbitration process redrew Abyei’s boundaries in 2009 to make it significantly smaller, extending no further north than 10°10′00″ N. This revised border has now been endorsed by all parties to the dispute.